French Open: Carlos Alcaraz shows sportsmanship by conceding a point to Ben Shelton
- During their fourth-round match at the 2025 French Open in Paris, Carlos Alcaraz admitted to a rules violation and awarded a point to Ben Shelton.
- Alcaraz acknowledged to the chair umpire that he violated the rules by not maintaining contact with his racket when the ball made contact, resulting in the point being awarded to Shelton.
- The incident took place early in the second set while Alcaraz was serving and ahead 40-30, but the concession turned the score against him, handing Shelton his initial opportunity to break serve in the match.
- Alcaraz, a four-time Grand Slam winner and the reigning Roland-Garros champion, later reflected on the moment with a smile, noting his disappointment as it had been the standout shot of the day.
- Alcaraz won the match 7-6 , 6-3, 4-6, 6-4 after 3 hours and 19 minutes, showing sportsmanship that earned him applause from the crowd and respect from both players.
Insights by Ground AI
Does this summary seem wrong?
88 Articles
88 Articles
All
Left
12
Center
43
Right
8
Fair play of the Spanish in the second set of the match won against Ben Shelton to the octaves of Roland Garros. The referee had not noticed, the exchange was replayed: "I couldn't pretend nothing"
·Turin, Italy
Read Full ArticleCarlos Alcaraz corrects French Open umpire and gives up point due to rarely used rule - The Mirror
Carlos Alcaraz showed his class in Paris as he corrected an umpire during his match with Ben Shelton at the French Open - handing a point to his opponent after he breached the rules
·London, United Kingdom
Read Full ArticleCoverage Details
Total News Sources88
Leaning Left12Leaning Right8Center43Last UpdatedBias Distribution68% Center
Bias Distribution
- 68% of the sources are Center
68% Center
L 19%
C 68%
13%
Factuality
To view factuality data please Upgrade to Premium