‘Stand Your Ground’: Wallabies Say Fighting Attitude Behind Lions Win Is Here to Stay
SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA, AUG 2 – Dan Sheehan faces sanction for a high shoulder charge on Tom Lynagh during the third Test, with the case to be reviewed by World Rugby's Independent Foul Play Review Committee.
- The British and Irish Lions lost 22-12 to Australia in the third Test at Accor Stadium on August 2, 2025, ending their 2-1 series bid.
- The match included a contentious incident where Lions hooker Dan Sheehan elbowed Wallabies fly-half Tom Lynagh, leading to Sheehan's citing for foul play.
- The game featured a 37-minute lightning delay, Lynagh failing a head injury assessment after Sheehan's illegal ruck charge, and James Ryan being carted off with a head knock.
- World Rugby's Independent Foul Play Review Committee will review Sheehan's case on August 3, and Lions coach Andy Farrell admitted he had not seen the incident replay.
- Australia avoided a series whitewash and salvaged pride with their victory, while Sheehan faces disciplinary action, highlighting ongoing scrutiny over physical contests in rugby.
12 Articles
12 Articles

‘Stand your ground’: Wallabies say fighting attitude behind Lions win is here to stay
Nic White said the Wallabies have put a line in the sand and won’t be pushed around in the future, as the retiring halfback said he’d be open to one more tour of South Africa due to injuries.


Dan Sheehan cited over Tom Lynagh incident in third Lions Test
The Lions hooker made head contact with the Australia fly half, who failed a head injury assessment
Dan Sheehan faces a disciplinary hearing after citing commissioner highlights Tom Lynagh incident
Dan Sheehan is set for a disciplinary hearing after the citing commissioner ruled that the Lions hooker has a case to answer following his clear out on Tom Lynagh during Australia’s third Test victory.
Statement: Lions star cited following defeat to Wallabies
British & Irish Lions hooker Dan Sheehan is set to face a disciplinary review after being cited for foul play during the third test against Australia in Sydney on Saturday, 3 August. The incident, flagged by independent citing commissioner Adrien Menez, relates to a breach of Law 9.20(a) — which prohibits players from charging into a ruck or maul. RUCK’s Lions content is powered by ISUZU. The case will be handled through World Rugby’s expedited…
Coverage Details
Bias Distribution
- 86% of the sources lean Left
Factuality
To view factuality data please Upgrade to Premium