See every side of every news story
Published loading...Updated

Non-alcoholic wine and gluten-free bread barred from holy communion

  • The Church of England has ruled that non-alcoholic wine and gluten-free bread cannot be used during Holy Communion, stating that bread must be made with wheat flour and wine from fermented grape juice to be consecrated.
  • Reverend Canon Alice Kemp described the ruling as an 'injustice of exclusion' for those unable to consume gluten or alcohol, forcing them to receive in one kind only or be prohibited from both.
  • Michael Ipgrave, the Bishop of Lichfield, explained that changing the rules would overturn settled positions in the Church regarding the elements used in Holy Communion.
Insights by Ground AI
Does this summary seem wrong?

16 Articles

All
Left
2
Center
1
Right
4
Think freely.Subscribe and get full access to Ground NewsSubscriptions start at $9.99/yearSubscribe

Bias Distribution

  • 57% of the sources lean Right
57% Right
Factuality

To view factuality data please Upgrade to Premium

Ownership

To view ownership data please Upgrade to Vantage

perspectivemedia.com broke the news in on Sunday, February 9, 2025.
Sources are mostly out of (0)