Alvarez furore set to spark double touch penalty review
- UEFA will discuss potential changes to the double touch rule after Atletico Madrid's loss in a Champions League penalty shootout against Real Madrid.
- Julian Alvarez's penalty goal was disallowed by VAR, which ruled he touched the ball twice.
- The current rule disallows a second touch before the ball has been played by another player and aims to prevent players from moving the ball closer to the goal.
- Atletico Madrid's coach, Diego Simeone, expressed confusion over the VAR intervention, noting that no one saw the double touch occur.
160 Articles
160 Articles
UEFA To Consider Rule Change After Julian Alvarez Penalty Controversy In UEFA Champions League
UEFA on Thursday said it would consider a potential rule change after Atletico Madrid forward Julian Alvarez's penalty was controversially disallowed in their Champions League shootout loss to Real Madrid. Real Madrid won Wednesday's shootout 4-2 after a 2-2 draw on aggregate to qualify for the quarter-finals, with Atletico coach Diego Simeone casting suspicion on the decision to rule out Alvarez's spot-kick. The Argentina international was deem…
UEFA has issued a statement, Atlético Madrid's penalty could lead to a rule change
Atletico Madrid were knocked out of the Champions League on penalties by city rivals Real Madrid on Wednesday night. The home team's Argentine player Julian Alvarez missed his own penalty, but the referee later disallowed it after a video assistant referee signal.
Coverage Details
Bias Distribution
- 44% of the sources lean Right
To view factuality data please Upgrade to Premium
Ownership
To view ownership data please Upgrade to Vantage